Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Cover Reveal and Giveaway: Life After Falling

Life After Falling by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Expected Publication: October 15, 2015
 Cover Design by Najla Qamber Designs
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
One tangled cassette tape. Two tangled lives.
Cassidy snaps. She quits her job and fiancĂ© all in the same day and ends up on her parents’ doorstep. In the midst of everything she is determined to fix a broken cassette tape that she thinks holds the key to rediscovering happiness.
On her quest to fix the tape she meets Leo, a guy as down on his luck as she is lost. What starts with curiosity leads to something resembling a relationship and maybe a chance at love.


 About the Author
Alyssa Rose Ivy is a New Adult and Young Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance
and
a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.
    

My Thoughts: 
I love the cover it is beautiful! I love the cassette tape and cannot wait to read this one. I love Alyssa Rose Ivy and I am dying to read anything new of hers. She has this way with romance that always has me addicted from the very first chapter. 

I want to hear what you think!
Let me know in the comments

Thank you for visiting Unabridged Bookshelf!

Waiting on Wednesday: Nightfall

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we cannot wait to get our hands on.

 I am waiting on:

Nightfall
Title: Nightfall
Author: Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski 
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: September 22, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Horror, 
A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner
Night is coming.
On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every twenty-four hours--it comes every twenty-eight years. Each sunset, the townspeople sail to the south, where they wait out the long Night. None of the adults will tell Marin, Kana, or their friend Line exactly what happens when they leave the island, but when the three are accidentally left behind in the gathering dusk, they learn the truth: at Night, their town belongs to others, and those others want them gone.
Fleeing through the now-alien landscape that used to be their home, the three confront shocking transformations and uncomfortable truths about themselves.  They are challenged to trust one another or perish. Marin, Kana, and Line must find their way off the island . . . before the Night finds them.
Why am I waiting?
This sounds exceptionally horrifying and intense. Bonus it comes out just in time to get me in the Halloween spirit. Does anyone else like to read scary or horror novels during October? I think it is just so fitting with the fall atmosphere and all the scary movies. I also want to know that lurks in the night. 

What are you waiting on?
Make sure to let me know in the comments

Thank you for visiting Unabridged Bookshelf!

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Dawn

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we cannot wait to get our hands on.

 I am waiting on:

Dawn (The Dire Wolves Chronicle, #3)
Title: Dawn
Author: Alyssa Rose Ivy
Series:The Dire Wolves Chronicles #3
Publication Date: September 3, 2015
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, 

Why am I waiting?
If you have been here any amount of time, the name Alyssa Rose Ivy should be very familiar. Alyssa Rose Ivy is probably the only author that I have read nearly every book that she has written, and the ones I haven't are simply due to a backlog in my TBR pile. The Dire Wolves is an amazing series, and so different from her other shapeshifter series. They are set in the same universe and even crossover which makes them even better for avid fans like me. I am curious to see what happens in the latest installment of this series.

Other Dire Wolves Fans: Team Hunter or Team Gage?

What are you waiting on?
Make sure to let me know in the comments

Thank you for visiting Unabridged Bookshelf!

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Vengeance Road

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we cannot wait to get our hands on.

 I am waiting on:

Vengeance Road
Title: Vengeance Road
Author: Erin Bowman
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: September 1, 2015
Genre:Young Adult, Historical, 
When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.      In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation.
Why am I waiting?
I not sure if I have ever really read a historical novel with western theme. I mean I love the old west, but I cannot remember actually reading a book with that setting. I think this book maybe what changes that, I really like the premise and this defiantly sounds like an action packed read. 

What are you waiting on?
Make sure to let me know in the comments

Thank you for visiting Unabridged Bookshelf!

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Reawakened

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we cannot wait to get our hands on.

 I am waiting on:

Reawakened (Reawakened, #1)
Title: Reawakened
Author: Colleen Houck
Series: Reawakened #1
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: August 11, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, 
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification.
And she really can't imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe to find his brothers and complete a grand ceremony that will save mankind.
But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world.
From New York Times bestselling author Colleen Houck comes an epic adventure about two star-crossed teens who must battle mythical forces and ancient curses on a journey with more twists and turns than the Nile itself.
Why am I waiting?
Since I was little I have been obsessed with Ancient Egypt. History, Culture, Mythology, Pharaohs, and Mummies there is so much that intrigues me. I love that this book is saturated in Ancient Egyptian culture and history that transpires in modern times. I am more excited about this book then I have been for a book in a really long time. Are you an Ancient Egypt Enthusiast too?

What are you waiting on?
Make sure to let me know in the comments

Thank you for visiting Unabridged Bookshelf!

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: The Foxglove Killings

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we cannot wait to get our hands on.

 I am waiting on:

The Foxglove Killings
Title: The Foxglove Killings
Author: Tara Kelly
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Publication Date: September 1, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery
Gramps always said that when the crickets were quiet, something bad was coming. And the crickets have been as silent as the dead. It started with the murdered deer in the playground with the unmistakable purple of a foxglove in its mouth. But in the dying boondock town of Emerald Cove, life goes on.
I work at Gramps's diner, and the cakes―the entitled rich kids who vacation here―make our lives hell. My best friend, Alex Pace, is the one person who gets me. Only Alex has changed. He's almost like a stranger now. I can't figure it out...or why I'm having distinctly more-than-friend feelings for him. Ones I shouldn't be having.
Then one of the cakes disappears.
When she turns up murdered, a foxglove in her mouth, a rumor goes around that Alex was the last person seen with her—and everyone but me believes it. Well, everyone except my worst enemy, Jenika Shaw. When Alex goes missing, it's up to us to prove his innocence and uncover the true killer. But the truth will shatter everything I've ever known about myself — and Alex.
Why am I waiting?
This is the super creepy murder mystery I have been dying to read. I have always and will always love a good mystery over anything else. I like trying to figure out what is going on and what is going to happen. This one sounds exceptionally creepy. 

What are you waiting on?
Make sure to let me know in the comments

Thank you for visiting Unabridged Bookshelf!

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Legacy of Kings

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we cannot wait to get our hands on.

 I am waiting on:

Legacy of Kings (Blood of Gods and Royals, #1)
Title: Legacy of Kings
Author: Eleanor Herman
Series: Blood of Gods and Royals #1
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: August 25, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.
Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to newcomer Katerina, who must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But Kat’s first love, Jacob, will go to unthinkable lengths to win her, even if it means competing for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince. And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet fiancĂ©e, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.
Weaving fantasy with the salacious and fascinating details of real history, New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known: Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series.
Why am I waiting?
I am a bit of a history nerd, and I always love retellings and re-imaginings of historical events. I know a little bit about Alexander the Great but I really want to see what Eleanor does to make this story her own. Also I have not read a really great Fantasy in a long time, and I think this will be a great one to fix that. 

What are you waiting on?
Make sure to let me know in the comments

Thank you for visiting Unabridged Bookshelf!